hazardsforum.org

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 29/03/2022
8:00 am - 9:30 am

Location

Categories


Asia-Pacific Branch – Dependent Failures

SaRS Webinar

Overview

This Asia-Pacific Webinar will take place at 15:00 Hong Kong time, 17:00 Brisbane time, 18:00 Melbourne/Sydney time and 08:00 UK time.

Critical systems, especially safety-critical systems, often rely on some degree of hardware redundancy to achieve high reliability, under the assumption that multiple, coincident failures of individual redundant channels will only occur very rarely. The rarity of such joint failures, however, is contingent on the extent to which channel failures are independent of each other. In principle and in practice, independence of failures is an elusive quality, and some accounting must be given of a system’s propensity for dependent failures, especially common cause failures. Reasoning about such failures requires an understanding of their origin and impact, which this talk will explore via case studies of real world systems. The talk will go on to discuss methods for controlling them as well as techniques for modelling both “explicit” and “implicit” dependent failures in reliability prediction and risk assessment.

SaRS webinars are free and open to all non-members and members.

The presenter for this webinar is: Dr Phil Cook, Principal Systems Engineer, RGB Assurance.

Dr Cook is an expert in the definition, design, development and analysis of high-integrity, software-intensive, automation systems, particularly in the rail sector. He has over 20 years’ experience in this field, including roles as System Architect on a series of landmark rail automation projects in Western Australia. Phil has a detailed, hands-on knowledge of the standards that govern the development of safety-critical, software-intensive, systems (such as IEC 61508, EN 50126/8/9, EN 50159), and has contributed to the development of systems assurance studies produced in accordance with these standards. In particular, he has worked on the verification of both timing and (safety) functional properties of real-time and embedded software systems. He has a particular passion for communications-based, safety-critical systems (e.g., ETCS Level 2/3) and has a keen interest in the use of cryptographic techniques to achieve the necessary communications security to support safety-critical system operation and in the mathematical foundations of reliability engineering.

To register for this Safety and Reliability Society webinar, please visit their website here.

 

Scroll to Top
Malcare WordPress Security